Loving Out Loud: Powerpig Photography….

What happens when a photographer with a subversive sense of humor, an affinity for pop culture and a love of Legos decides to meld them together?  You get one of my favorite emerging photographers, PowerPig ….

PowerPig Collage

Combining super saturated colors, pop culture references and a healthy dose of irreverence, Powerpig’s photography has a twisted innocence that reminds me of part 1990s Japanese anime and part Damien Hirst.  It’s saccharine sweet with a dark subtext – totally up my alley.

I recently pitched two of his pieces a client …..

PowerPig_Outbreak

PowerPig_Fortified with Vitamin S

The first is called “Outbreak” and I think would be completely appropriate (and rightly hilarious) in the client’s bathroom, while the second picture is “Fortified with Vitamin S” and I can see hung in the client’s kitchen.

While PowerPig’s art isn’t for everyone, it fulfills the three criteria I have for selecting art for a client – (1) it provokes conversation, (2) reminds me of the client’s personality and (3) elicits a smile each time you look at it….

And honestly, I am grinning from ear-to-ear right now……

PowerPig photography and other artwork is available via Society6.com.

Check me out  on PinterestFacebookTwitter and Insta.gram for more musings on design, food and just plain randomness…

One thought on “Loving Out Loud: Powerpig Photography….

Leave a Reply

