Recipe: Candied Lime Sweet Potatoes

So to be clear…I am not a vegan.  I really enjoy meat in all varieties, especially bacon wrapped steak which I am sure reserves me a special seat in Vegan Hell.  However, my torrid love affair with all things flesh doesn’t preclude me from enjoying those things that don’t involve the ritualistic slaughter of a beast.

In fact, I would venture to say that this past Thanksgiving, I put up a valiant effort to accommodate a member of the dinner party with pretty restricted dietary guidelines – no dairy, gluten, wheat or rice.  Basically, the person didn’t eat anything that I hold near and dear to me.  A bit at a loss, I thought my vegan friends could steer me in the right direction and they did not disappoint by introducing me to this fantastic recipe from VeganYumYum for Candied Lime Sweet Potatoes.  They were every bit as delicious as they sound – sweet, tart and a wonderful counterpoint to the heaviness that can be associated with Thanksgiving dinner.  Matter of fact, I liked them so much, that I made them again for another dinner party later that weekend.

In addition, I won major cool points for bringing a totally vegan dish to both dinner parties. So to recap, I got kudos for being (1) a good cook and (2) awesome sensitive person who thinks about others…..seriously, I could totally be a vegan….well if it wasn’t for giving up bacon, otherwise I would totally be down for it……

Candied Lime Sweet Potatoes
Serves 8

4 Sweet Potatoes, peeled
1 Cup Sugar
2 tsp Molasses
1 tsp Salt
Juice of 2 Fresh Limes
Zest from 1 Small Lime
1 tsp Minced Ginger or 1/4 tsp Ginger Powder, optional
Black Pepper, to taste
Earth Balance/non-diary butter , for dotting
Parsley or Cilantro, for garnish

1) Preheat oven to 400 degree F

2) Slice sweet potatoes thinly, about 1/8″, with a mandoline or a food processor. Mix remaining ingredients (except pepper, non-diary butter and garnish) together to form a paste. Place sweet potato slices in bowl and coat well with the lime sugar mixture.

3) Arrange the coated slices in overlapping rows in one layer in an oiled casserole dish. Dot with non-diary butter, sprinkle with pepper, and wrap tightly with two layers of aluminum foil.

4) Bake for 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake uncovered for an additional 10 minutes. Finish under the broiler to brown the top. Sprinkle with parsley/cilantro and serve immediately.

 Notes:

- Yams can be substituted for sweet potatoes

- Brown sugar can be used in lieu of white sugar.  However, raw sugar doesn’t work well for this recipe as the granules sometimes do not dissolve, leaving a crunchy texture.

So tell me, did you find a new holiday dish that you incorporated into your meal?

Picture courtesy of VeganYumYum

Check me out on PinterestFacebookTwitter and Insta.gram for musings on design, food and just plain randomness.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Candied Lime Sweet Potatoes

Leave a Reply

