Master Bedroom Update: Yup, It’s Another Chair……

I have not talked much about the master bedroom update since the article I wrote for Centsational Girl.  It is still pretty much the same room as seen in the picture on the House Tour page

I am stuck on whether I should wallpaper the angular accent wall or paint.  The wallpaper I want is extremely expensive and comes with a 25 yard minimum order which isn’t a bad thing since I would love to do our whole bedroom in it.  At over $85/yard, it is a pricey investment that does not improve the overall value of the home especially knowing that this is not my “forever home”. 

So while I am dragging my feet on beginning the wall transformation, I did pull the trigger on having the occasional chair recovered that sits in the corner.  I had multiple ideas for the chair (here and here) but opted to do a simple upholstery job that would not lock me into a particular design should I change my mind. 

The chair was originally covered in a moss green ultrasuede which was fine when it served the purpose of a really expensive laundry hamper since I am too lazy to fold clean laundry (yeah it’s one of my growth areas for 2012).

However, I wanted something a bit more glam in the fabric department.  As I mentioned, fabric for the chair went through a couple of missteps from a overscale zebra print, to grey and gold polka dots to large-scale window pane print.  Each fabric was great on its own but didn’t quite work with the overall room I envisioned in my head (FYI if anyone wants some great zebra, polka dot or windowpane print fabrics, shoot me an email).  After looking at all my false starts, I realized that (1) my eye was consistently going to golds and pewters and (2) the fabric patterns were the sticking point on all of the other fabrics.  Armed with this information, I redirected my fabric search, found a great fabric & finally got the versatile chair I was hoping for……

The fabric I opted for was Club Room III in Dune by Duralee.  It is a tawny color with strips of gold lurex-like fabric woven throughout it.  It catches the light beautifully but is subtle.  To play along with the sheen of the chair and the gold vibe, I got the Bijoux-Dot throw pillow from West Elm.

While the chair isn’t in-your-face-fab-awesome like my other chair make overs (here and here), I think it will serve its future purpose — to blend seamlessly.  The end goal is to create a room that is a calm retreat and I think the chair puts me on the right path.

So how was your weekend? 

Check out my Facebook and Pinterest pages as well as my Twitter feed.

5 thoughts on “Master Bedroom Update: Yup, It’s Another Chair……

  1. Even I have some neutrals too! It does look more comfortable now.

    Also I am always on the look out for fun fabric. Can you post pictures of the fabric, maybe on “the Facebook” or what have you. (I swear I’m not as old as that last sentence makes me sound ;) )

Leave a Reply

